Posted in Photography

Weekly Photo Challenge: Nostalgia

Image

When my husband and I moved in to our home, the first thing I asked him to do was to build a clothesline for me. I love how my clothes and sheets are soft and wrinkle-free when I take them off the line. I also love not using my dryer and saving energy!

Every time I take a basket of clothes outside, I remember my childhood. Putting clothes on the line was a chore back then, but I didn’t hate it.

Living in former military housing that was built the same year my husband was born makes me think about the people who lived here first. It was the early 60s, I can’t imagine they wouldn’t have a clothesline! I wonder if the wives of the Air Force personnel and Scientists that lived here used to visit in the backyard as they took care of their laundry. I wonder about all the people who lived here, and what their stories were. I remember visiting my grandmother in Massachusetts as a kid and being outside while she hung the laundry.

In these days where we hurry through our days – rinse, wash, repeat….taking the time to hang my clothes on the line gives me just a few moments of a bit of the “old days” and I feel content.

Author:

Hello and thank you for visiting my blog! I am a mixed bag all jumbled up with glitter writing a book, playing on ham radio (I'm WY7YL), being a Parrothead, making jewelry, running, reading, or running around with my camera taking pics of nature and my cats. This blog is a smattering of all of it!

14 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Nostalgia

    1. Oh yes, the smell!!!! How could I have forgotten that?!! Thanks for responding to my post!!! 🙂

  1. Thank you Katie – for sharing this and for reminding me. My wife, and all the wives I think, would like to see a nicely built clothesline. Up till now, my wife loves still to wash our clothes and because I am not good at washing clothes I make sure that the clothesline are nice and convenient for her.

    1. They are tee shirts from ICOM America – a manufacturer of Amateur Radio equipment (ham radio). That tower in the background is for our ham radio antennas. We had shirts to give away at an event, and our basement flooded and the box with the shirts got wet. I thought it made a pretty fun photo.

  2. Thanks for sharing Maxim! The line actually needs a little work, but I’ll just stay quiet and happy that I have it!

  3. Look at all the Icom T-Shirts. I also love clothes lines. Love the fresh smell on the bed sheets. Also reminds me of my childhood. Thanks for reminding me.

    1. Thanks Patti!!! And thanks for sharing the link to your site, I can tell from a quick peek that I’m really going to enjoy it!!!

Leave a Reply

