Posted in Blogging, Writing, Zero to Hero

Zero to Hero Day 21

On day 19, our project was to post in a new way, utilizing a different mode than we usually post. I chose to post a video, primarily because I hadn’t done that yet. Honestly, I didn’t put a lot of thought in to it, I just returned from being away from home and needed a quick fix, so to say. This particular video was just released to the public as a way to promote the centennial celebration of the ARRL – the national association of Amateur Radio.

I should have known there would be more to day 19, I likely would have posted with a little more thought! So what is today all about? Expanding on Day 19! Talk about the proverbial whomp upside the head. My initial thoughts when I read the assignment earlier today were pretty scant. I thought…how the hell am I supposed to expand on my mostly thoughtless post (not thoughtless in the mean way…thoughtless in the lack of energy spent on it way). 🙂

Throughout the day my brain mulled this over as I prepared for my Conversations with God discussion group, our topic being that of listening to the messages we receive from the Universe/God/Source. Yes, quite the combination of topics in my head at one time – ham radio and God. However, my discussion group topics helped me to dig a little deeper and really think about the importance of ham radio. I could give you a sales pitch on why it’s a great hobby and why you should be a member of the ARRL if you are a ham…but that’s not my job anymore. I’m on the volunteer side of things now, I’m diving in to why it is important to me. This video is educational and entertaining. It is also full of my friends.

I found ham radio because I needed a job. Little did I know that after I earned my license from the FCC I would actually really love “playing radio” (yes, you have to take a test and earn a license). Working for the national headquarters for Amateur Radio, I had some really amazing people as my teachers who are still my friend many years later. I have a degree in Geography, but I still need to pull up Google Earth to locate many of the countries that I make a contact with. I met my husband because of ham radio, as well as the people that I count among my best friends. 

Ham radio is much more than getting on the air and making a contact with a far away country; catching a contact with an astronaut on the International Space Station as it flies overhead; a contest where we spend the weekend in our ham shack trying to talk to as many people as we can within certain parameters; building equipment and towers; participating in community service events; responding to times of need when traditional communication systems are wiped out. The list goes on and on, there’s really no excuse to ever be bored in this hobby.

I’m not trying to convince you to run out and get your license and become a ham radio operator. But if you have a kid that is displaying signs like Dilbert here…you might have a future ham and engineer (just like my hubby!). He might have The Knack!

Author:

Hello and thank you for visiting my blog! I am a mixed bag all jumbled up with glitter writing a book, playing on ham radio (I'm WY7YL), being a Parrothead, making jewelry, running, reading, or running around with my camera taking pics of nature and my cats. This blog is a smattering of all of it!

One thought on “Zero to Hero Day 21

  1. Parents, if your kid takes apart EVERYTHING you give them, have patience. Remember that you gave them a gift expecting them to be entertained by that toy or gadget. Taking it apart is part of that enjoyment. This behavior leads to an understanding of how things work. This is what we call, the KNACK. Being the afore mentioned “hubby” and father of a brilliant kid, that now works for Microsoft, I know good things come from an understanding of “How Things Work”

Leave a Reply

