Posted in photo101

Triumph

For our last assignment with Photo101, our subject (and celebration) is the theme of Triumph. Personally, when I think of Triumph, I immediately think of finishing three half-marathons in the past two years. For some people, that’s a piece of cake, for others they say they’d only do it if being chased! For me, it started off to be nothing short of a miracle.

Why did I do it? I did it simply because for the first time in my adult life, I was healthy enough to actually DO it. My family remembers back when I struggled to walk again after a really bad health crisis. Walking again started with a walker – then a 4-pronged cane – then a regular cane. The years of pain, years of meds, years of inactivity – that was my life.

When I think Triumph, I think of the celebration and joy I felt each time I crossed the finish line. The best way I could think to represent that in a photo was to snap a shot from my “sacred” room where my medals are, as well as the photo when I crossed the finish line the first time.

It’s not the greatest photo in the world, but the meaning behind itΒ is what is important to me. To me, that is my Triumph.

Medals of my half-marathons
Medals of my half-marathons

Author:

Hello and thank you for visiting my blog! I am a mixed bag all jumbled up with glitter writing a book, playing on ham radio (I'm WY7YL), being a Parrothead, making jewelry, running, reading, or running around with my camera taking pics of nature and my cats. This blog is a smattering of all of it!

6 thoughts on “Triumph

  1. Wonderful story, Katy! Hooray for your strength to overcome…BTW, I think that you are living my dream life…If you have a horse, then that would be for sure. πŸ™‚

  2. I absolutely love this photo, and everything it means to you, Katydid. I am so glad to have met you through WordPress. This post is indeed a triiumph. It gives me goosies. πŸ™‚

  3. Teehee – thanks so much Mark!! Half-marathon #4 coming up in 2 months – adding to that wall!! I”m so glad to have met you here as well!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

